After the Cambridge Analytica scandal, in which millions of Facebook users obtained their data without their knowledge or consent, there is a growing demand that people be completely disconnected and take back control of their private lives by which they delete facebook permanently.
However, it is not as simple as it seems, as you may have noticed if you spent some time exploring the options for your account. It takes a bit of effort to back up your data, and then it will be completely deleted from the site.
If you wish to continue using Facebook to keep in touch with your friends, but do not want your data to be shared with the developers of the application, you can disconnect your Facebook account from third-party sites. If you’re sure you want to continue with the nuclear option, here we show you how to delete facebook permanently.
If you are not ready to delete your account completely, you can suspend your account temporarily to take a break. This will not eliminate any of your data
Temporarily deactivate your account
Do you just want to take a break or see if you’re ready to live without social networks before committing to it? Temporary deactivation of your account will disable your profile and remove your name from most things that you have shared (although it may still appear in some places, such as group messages).
Click on the arrow (facing downwards) in the title bar, select ‘Settings’ and click ‘Edit’ next to ‘Manage my account.’ Scroll down and click on ‘Deactivate my account’ and enter your password as confirmation. To reactivate your account, simply log in again.
It is advisable to make a backup of your data before deleting your account. The process will take a while to complete, especially if you have uploaded many photos and videos.
Steps to take before you delete facebook permanently
Download your data
If you have been using Facebook for a while, you can have hundreds of photos and videos saved on your servers, as well as thousands of posts and comments. Facebook also stores information about the IP addresses you used to log in to Facebook, the dates and times you clicked on the ads, and the account status history.
Before deleting your account, make a backup by clicking the down arrow in the Facebook title bar, selecting ‘Settings’ and clicking ‘Download a copy of your Facebook data.’ You’ll not be able to recover this once your account has disappeared.
Social Book Post Manager is a Chrome extension that allows you to delete photos, publications and labels en masse, which makes it easy to erase your Facebook fingerprints.
Delete photos and publications
It may take up to 90 days for all your publications and photos to be removed from the site. If you don’t want your info to stay for three months, start deleting everything before you delete facebook permanently.
Social Book Post Manager is a Chrome add-on that allows you to delete several Facebook posts at once. Backup your data, then install the add-on, go to your Facebook activity log and choose a specific filter (such as “publications in which it is labeled”).
Click on the Social Book publication manager icon and search for a particular text string and date range. The publications that match your criteria will be highlighted in yellow, and by clicking on the “Delete” button, they will be deleted. Be careful: there is no way to restore them once they are deleted.
Once you have entered your password, there is no going back.
Delete Facebook Permanently
Ready to delete facebook permanently? Once you have backed up everything and removed the posts and photos you want to delete immediately, visit the Facebook account removal page (Facebook is not interested in you doing this, so you can not easily access through the configuration menu) and click on “Delete my account.”
It may take 90 days for everything to be deleted from the Facebook servers, but it will be inaccessible from the moment you click on the button.